Getting Animated…In a Whole New World

To give you all the heads up on my next upcoming post I thought I would drop a couple of friendly hints (through the wonderful world of YouTube) as to what I may be dissecting. Take a look at these trailers and take a guess:

The Little Mermaid (1989)


Beauty and the Beast (1991)


Aladdin (1992)


Toy Story (1995)


Shrek (2001)


Happy Feet (2006)


Toy Story 3 (2010)


How to Train Your Dragon (2010)

If you didn’t pick the theme up by at least Aladdin (1993) then to keep you a breast, I’m dissecting the animation film genre. This emerging and highly advanced form of cinema has taken on a whole life of its own, telling stories either not possible or not believable in any other format. Since a little kid I have been mesmerised by the bright colours, surreal characters and unbelievable magic of this genre. And as I have aged I have watched it become so advanced that I forget that some classic films, like Beauty and the Beast (1991), and are actual in the same category as new epics, including How to Train Your Dragon (2010). In my next post I want to examine what it is that connects these films together besides the label of ‘animated’, as I examine the rapid development that has shaped an entire genre.

Has this genres evolution been for the better or worse? Do modern animations lack the heart of their predecessors? And what is it that makes these movies so enticing for, not only children but, millions of people the world over?

So while you’re pondering those questions think about your favourite animated movies of all time and let me know! I’d be interested to hear which characters, stories, adventures and musical numbers have tickled your fancy throughout animations history. Hopefully through our dissection we will be able to view animation in a whole new world.

Leave a comment

Filed under Features

Leave a comment