Sydney Film Festival 2011 – I’m there!

I must start by apologising for my lack of posts these past couple of weeks. To be an active blogger you need to manage your time A LOT better and, to be honest, uni has consumed me more than I would like to admit. However, I write today with exciting news about this years Sydney Film Festival, running from June 8-19.

At 3.39pm (I was really excited as you can tell) I received an email from the Lantern Group, the publicity and events company behind the SSF2011, informing me that I had been given media accreditation for this years festival! With a lot of assistance from my amazing friends at UTS’ Vertigo Magazine (who I will be covering the event for), I will be able to attend the event along with a long list of other important entertainment and film journalists. However, what Vertigo cannot publish on their website or in their sixth issue, I will publish up here on my gateway to the ever expanding internet film community. So hopefully you will get an in depth and interesting coverage of the event from a first time attendee.

Since I was sent that golden ticket of a PDF yesterday afternoon I cannot stop thinking about what I want and NEED to see. There are so many incredible films on offer all across Sydney, and I know I won’t get to view them all. But I have compiled a small(ish) list of the films that I have ear marked as essential. Check them out below.

While I am lucky enough to be going through the Vertigo magazine, I know I would have still gone regardless. So I encourage everyone to get out and enjoy, support and embrace  Sydney’s tribute to some of the best international and local films for 2011. This year is not to be missed! Check out the event coverage at www.sff.org.au   and start planning out your weeks now, I know I am!

33 Post Cards (Australia)

This feels like a great heart-warming Australian story, a nice alternative to the gangland and serial killer films that have become synonymous with our industry. Starring Guy Pierce, Claudia Karvan and Lincoln Lewis, this film follows the story of a 16 year old Chinese orphan who on, coming to Australia, seeks out her pen pal and sponsor (Pierce) and the perfect family he has told her all about.

Also on a personal note, one of this films producers (Penny Carl-Nelson) was a family friend who I only remember from when I was 6 or 7 years old. I had no idea she was heavily involved in the industry and it will be great to see her work on display, with such a distinguished cast!

Sessions: 8.30pm 9th June, Dendy Opera Quay

Beginners (USA) 


Starring Ewan McGregor, Christopher Plummer and Melaine Laurent, Beginners is a film I am excited about for a number of reasons! It will be the closing night film (so I will even have to pay and I still don’t care) and it follows the lives of a father (Plummer) and son (McGregor) as they start living their lives again after the death of their beloved mother/wife. Ever since The Last Station (2009) I have been in awe of Plummer, so seeing him billeted here is a major draw card. Also Laurent is a major up and coming French actress in the English speaking market, you may remember her from Inglorious Basterds (2009). And any story about life and its meanings etc etc I am a sucker for. I can’t wait for this one!

Sessions: 7.30pm 19th June, State Theatre

Martha Marcy May Marlene (USA)


When I first saw the trailer for Martha Marcy May Marlene (2011), my first thoughts were of last years critically acclaimed and Academy Award nominated Winter’s Bone (2010). Both films are and look gritty, both were critically acclaimed at the Sundance film festival, both have John Hawkes and both consist of strong lead female characters. While Winter’s Bone had a relatively unknown Jennifer Lawrence, MMMM has a young actress who comes from the very famous Oslen family (Mary Kate and Ashley) but has decided to distinguish herself as a powerful (and talented) actress. Elizabeth Olsen stars as a young girl who, following her escape from a religious cult led by a charismatic leader (Hawkes), tries to reconnect with reality while learning to understand the events that brought her back to her sister and brother-in-law (Sarah Paulson and Hugh Dancy). I think this could be an Oscar contender for 2012 so I won’t be missing this one!

Session: 9.00pm 10th June, Event Cinemas 9

The Tree of Life (USA)


I don’t think much needs to be said about this film which took Terrence Mallick over 40 years to actually make. Reviews out of Cannes have been mixed but everyone has agreed this film is a masterpiece of visionary pleasures, plus Pitt is said to be sensational. I will be (fingers crossed) at the State Theatre for this one!

Session: 6.30pm 14th June, State Theatre

Win Win (USA)

Paul Giamatti and Amy Ryan lead this indie film, which has elements of Little Miss Sunshine (2006), Juno (2007) and Up in the Air (2009) all meshed into one. Paul Giamatti plays an attorney trying to embezzle  one of his elderly clients by sending him to a nursing home. However, things become difficult when the client’s runaway grandson turns up looking for a place to stay. Ryan has been receiving rave reviews for her performance as Giamatti’s wife and motherly figure (you can see some her performance on YouTube). The trailer looks like the perfect mix of dry humour and heartfelt three dimensional characters. I’m hooked already.

Session: 9.30pm 14th June, State Theatre

Life in a Day (UK)

Kevin Macdonald (Last King of Scotland), the Scott brothers (Ridley and Tony) and YouTube where very ambitious when embarking on this documentary project together. They encouraged people from all over the world to film their life in one day on the exact same day – the 24th June 2010. All films were upload onto YouTube and then compiled together by Macdonald. This will be interesting to see and its reception is still relatively unknown. I’m intrigued by what people could have captured and uploaded onto YouTube in just one day. This could be complete international gold!

Session: 8.45pm 11th June, Event Cinemas

Leave a comment

Filed under Features, Sydney Film Festival 2011

Leave a comment